BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, AUGUST 22, 2022 3:00 P.M.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83853880487?pwd=dGlaN1ROTTBpSE5Cam90VEtBdkJrUT09

Board Members:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Commissioner Matt Oates, Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Councilperson Kevin O'Neill

Members not Present:

Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Commissioner Claire Terrebonne

Port KC Staff:

Brian Rabineau, Chase Johnson, Jocelyn Knight, Joe Lohman, Joe Perry, Jon Stephens, Krishan Purvis, Mary Barnes, Megan Elder, and Richard Grenville

Guests:

Aaron March – Rouse Frets White Goss, Bart Lowen, Blake Fulton, Daniel Ferman-Leon – Cornell University, Diana Radzevich, Harold Ray – Clifton Larson Allen, Janice Bolin – Kansas City Public Library, Jeremy Zackula, Joey Flickner – IUPAT Dist. Council 3, and Mike Talboy

1.	Call to Order	Chairperson Hermann
	The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Hermann at 3:09 p.m.	
2.	Consideration of July 25, 2022 Minutes	Chairperson Hermann

Councilperson Shields made a motion to adopt the July 25, 2022, meeting minutes as written.

Councilperson O'Neill seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There was no discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public, or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

A single public testimony period will be provided prior to the Board's consideration of the listed items. Public testimony is limited to three (3) minutes per person, unless extended at the discretion of the Chairperson.

A. Resolution Inducing the Issuance of Bonds and Establishing Terms & Financial Framework – 7501 NW 106th Terrace Expansion

Councilperson Shields made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution establishing the property tax exemption framework for the project as presented, and expressing Port KC's intent to issue bonds in one or more series in an amount not to collectively exceed \$19 Million.

Commissioner Oates seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, No

[There were questions and comments from the Board.]

The motion passed three to one.

B. Resolution Inducing the Issuance of Bonds and Establishing Terms & Financial Framework – N. Brighton & 210

Councilperson Shields made the motion that the Board adopt a Resolution establishing the property tax exemption framework for the project as presented, and expressing Port KC's intent to issue bonds in one or more series in an amount not to collectively exceed \$43 Million.

Councilperson O'Neill seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There was no discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public, or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

C. Resolution Approving Task Order #17 under On-Call Engineering Contract with TranSystems – MRT

Commissioner Oates made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution approving TranSystems Task Order #17 in the amount of \$178, 200.00.

Councilperson O'Neill seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There was no discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public, or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

A separate public testimony period will be provided at the conclusion of the Board's consideration of each of the listed items, i.e., prior to any vote. Public testimony is limited to three (3) minutes per person, per item, unless extended at the discretion of the Chairperson.

A. Acceptance of FY22 Audited Financial Statements

Commissioner Oates made a motion that the Board accept the fiscal year 2022 audited financial

Councilperson O'Neill seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There were various questions from the Board and comments from Staff and Guests.]

The motion passed unanimously.

B. Authorizing the Execution of MOU's for the Receipt and Disbursement of a \$200,000 Launch KC Grant to the Downtown Council

Commissioner Oates made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution authorizing the President & CEO to execute Memoranda of Understanding with

the Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development and the Downtown Council for the FY2023 \$200,000 Launch KC grant.

Councilperson Shields seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There was no discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public, or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

6. Nomination/Consideration of Resolution Electing

Councilperson Shields made a motion for the acceptance of the following board appointments: Secretary/Treasurer - Jon Stephens, Development Committee Chair - Claire Terrebonne, and Finance and Administration Committee Chair - Matt Oates.

Chairperson Hermann seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There was no discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public, or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

8. Other Business

9. CLOSED SESSION: Pursuant to Section 610.021 (1)(2)(3), RSMo for matters related to legal actions, real estate transactions and personnel issues.

Commissioner Oates made a motion to enter into closed session pursuant to section 610.021 (3) for matters related to personnel issues.

Councilperson Shields seconded.

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Chairperson Katheryn Shields, Aye

	The Board of Commissioners meeting was adjourned at 4:26 p.m.
10.	Adjourn
	The Board moved from open to closed session from discussing a personnel issue. The motion passed three to one. No further action was taken.
	The motion passed unanimously.
	Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye