## PORT KC BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, MARCH 28, 2022 3:00 P.M.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83812716033?pwd=R2c5aTA5WHhpc290Y1p3NjAvL21UUT09

Meeting ID: 838 1271 6033 Passcode: 914887

Meeting began at 3:12 p.m.

## **Board:**

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Commissioner Matt Oates, Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Councilperson Katheryn Shields, and Councilperson Kevin O'Neill

## Staff:

Brian Rabineau, Chase Johnson, Joe Lohman, Joe Perry, John Stephens, Jolene Mead, Krishan Purvis, Mariah Shields, Mark Coulter, Mary Barnes, and Richard Grenville

## **Guests:**

AJ Jasse – Resident The Hudson, Alexis Jostrand – President @ Chelsea, Ashley McAlmond Brett Satterwhite, Bruce Eddy – Community Mental Health Fund, Clay Marcusen, Corey Meriman, Daniel Fermon – Leon – Cornell University Ph.D. candidate, Jan Parks, Janice Bolin – Kansas City Public Library, Jeff Nigh, Jim Warford, Joe Trash, John Conner, John Connor, Kathleen Pointer – Kansas City Public School, Kavahn Mansouri – KCUR, Kevin Berman, Kevin Berman, Kevin Collison – City Scene, Kevin Hardy – The Kansas City Star, Lauren Brown, Michael Browning, Rob Nelson, Ron Clark, Roxsen Koch – Polsinelli, Stan Meyers – Terracon, Taylor Wade – Lux Living, and Tom Friestad – Kansas City Business Journal

1.	Call to Order
2.	Consideration of February 28, 2022 Minutes Chairperson Hermann
	Councilperson Shields made a motion to adopt the February 28, 2022, minutes as written.
	Commissioner Terrebonne seconded.
	Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[No discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

#### 

Councilperson O'Neill made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution authorizing the addition of the Chairperson of the Finance and Administration Committee and Port KC's Vice Presidents to the list of people authorized to co-sign checks, drafts, and notes over \$25,000.00.

Councilperson Shields seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[No discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public or Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

### 

Commissioner Oates made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution authorizing the assignment and collateralization of the Annual Administrative Fees from eleven (11) Tax Compliance Agreements, each agreement in connection to the Three Trails Industrial Park or the Northland Industrial Park projects, and the borrowing of \$2,500,000.00 for the Missouri River Terminal (MRT) Project.

Commissioner Cargile seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, *Recusal* 

[No discussion, comments, or questions from the Board, Public or Staff.]

The motion passed six to one with a majority vote.

- 6. Consideration of Resolution Inducing the Issuance of Bonds, and Establishing Terms and Financial Framework

Councilperson Shields made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution expressing the intent of Port KC to issue bonds in one or more series to finance the costs of developing a multi-family project on Parcel 12, Lot 2 of Berkley Riverfront, in an amount not to exceed \$56 Million.

Commissioner Tekeste seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There were discussions, comments, and questions from the Board, Public, and Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

# 7. Consideration of Resolution Inducing the Issuance of Bonds, and Establishing Terms and Financial Framework

Councilperson Shields made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution expressing the intent of Port KC to issue bonds in one or more series to finance the costs of developing a boutique hotel project on the northern portion of Parcel 3 of Berkley Riverfront, in an amount not to exceed \$29 Million.

Commissioner Tekeste seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There were discussions, comments, and questions from the Board and Staff.]

The motion passed unanimously.

#### 

Councilperson Shields made a motion that the Board adopt a Resolution approving the draft petition and authorizing staff to perform all necessary steps to effect the creation of the Kansas City, Missouri Port Improvement District No. 7.

Commissioner Oates seconded.

Roll call vote was taken:

Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye

[There were discussions, comments, and questions from the Board, Public, and Staff.] The motion passed unanimously. 9. 10. **Other Business** 11. CLOSED SESSION: Pursuant to Section 610.021 (1)(2)(3), RSMo for matters related to legal actions, real estate transactions and personnel issues Councilperson Shields made the motion to go into closed session pursuant to Section 610.021 (3), RSMo for matters related to personnel issues. Commissioner Oates seconded. Roll call vote was taken: Chairperson Deb Hermann, Aye Commissioner Claire Terrebonne, Aye Commissioner Henok Tekeste, Aye Commissioner Matt Oates, Aye Commissioner Yolanda Cargile, Aye Councilperson Katheryn Shields, Aye Councilperson Kevin O'Neill, Aye The motion passed unanimously. No decisions were made and the board went back into open session. 12.

Adjourn Chairperson Hermann

The meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m.